Navigation

Financial Education and Consumer Resources


Blogs

Cash Chat:  http://financialinfoforwomen.wordpress.com/

Clearpoint Credit Counseling Solutions: http://www.clearpoint.org/blog/

Get Rich Slowly: http://www.getrichslowly.org/

MintLife Blog:  http://www.mint.com/blog/

Money Talks News:  http://www.moneytalksnews.com/

On the Money Magazine: http://www.onthemoneystl.org/


Banking

Bank On Save Up St Louis:  www.getbankednow.org


Borrowing Money / Lending

Credit and Loans:  http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/topics/credit-and-loans

MyMoney.gov: http://www.mymoney.gov/borrow/Pages/borrow.aspx

Payday Loans:  https://www.consumerfinance.gov/ask-cfpb/category-payday-loans/


Children and Youth

“Financial Firsts” for teachers:  http://www.clearpointccs.org/financial-firsts-for-teachers/

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis http://www.stlouisfed.org/education_resources/

Junior Achievement http://studentcenter.ja.org/Pages/default.aspx

Kids and Money: Teaching Children to Manage Their Finances: https://www.stlouisfed.org/~/media/Files/PDFs/Community%20Development/Booklets%20Guides%20and%20Brochures/kids_and_money.pdf

Money Math: http://www.treasurydirect.gov/indiv/tools/tools_moneymath.htm

MyMoney.gov – Youth Resources: http://www.mymoney.gov/Pages/for-youth.aspx

FDIC- Young Money Smart https://www.fdic.gov/consumers/consumer/moneysmart/young.html


Consumer Issues

Better Business Bureau company directory/reviews:  www.bbb.org

Direct Marketing Association opt-out:  www.dmachoice.org

Federal Trade Commission: www.ftc.gov

National “Do Not Call” Registry:  www.donotcall.gov


Credit

Credit Reports: http://www.federalreserve.gov/creditreports/default.htm

Credit Scores: www.myfico.com

Free annual credit report: www.annualcreditreport.com

Free credit reports: http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0155-free-credit-reports


Debt

Chestnut Credit Counseling:  http://www.chestnut.org

Clearpoint Credit Counseling Solutions:  http://www.clearpoint.org/

Debt Collection (FDIC): https://www.fdic.gov/consumers/assistance/protection/debtcollection.html

Fair Debt Collection Practices Act:  http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0149-debt-collection

National Foundation for Credit Counseling: http://www.nfcc.org/


General Financial Education

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau: www.consumerfinance.gov

FDIC Money Smart: https://www.fdic.gov/consumers/consumer/moneysmart/index.html

Federal Financial Literacy and Education Commission: www.mymoney.gov

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency: http://www.occ.gov/topics/community-affairs/resource-directories/financial-literacy/index-financial-literacy.html#BasicFinancialLiteracy

Smart About Money (NEFE): http://www.smartaboutmoney.org/


On-line Curriculum/Training/Videos

“Financial Firsts” for teachers:  http://www.clearpointccs.org/financial-firsts-for-teachers/

BBB/Clearpoint financial tip videos:  http://www.bbb.org/council/news-events/lists/tips-sponsored-by-clearpoint-credit-counseling-solutions/

Clearpoint Debt Collection Podcasts: http://clearpoint.org/resource-center/podcasts

Clearpoint University: www.u.clearpointccs.org

FDIC Money Smart: https://www.fdic.gov/consumers/consumer/moneysmart/index.html

FDIC Money Smart Kids: https://www.fdic.gov/consumers/consumer/moneysmart/young.html

Khan Academy – Better Money Habits: https://www.bettermoneyhabits.com/


Relationships and Money

A lighter look at love and money:  http://www.repaydebt.org/wcc_contest/penny-bags-a-buck-episode-1-giveaway

Dave Ramsey:  http://www.daveramsey.com/articles/content-center/category/lifeandmoney_relationshipsandmoney/

Dave Ramsey: https://www.daveramsey.com/blog/the-truth-about-money-and-relationships

Debt & Relationships: http://time.com/money/3896131/couples-money-debt/

Dr. Phil:  http://www.drphil.com/articles/article/32

Money Smart: https://www.moneysmart.gov.au/life-events-and-you/families/relationships-and-money

Suze Orman:  http://www.oprah.com/money/Money-and-Relationships-5-Tips-Suze-Orman


Retirement

AARP Money and Savings:  http://blog.aarp.org/category/money-savings/

CNN Money – Retirement:  http://money.cnn.com/retirement/

A simple, safe, affordable way to start saving for retirement: http://myRA.gov

Social Security Administration:  http://www.ssa.gov/retirement/

Social Security Administration (other considerations): https://www.ssa.gov/planners/retire/otherthings.html


Savings

America Saves: http://www.americasaves.org/

Federal Trade Commission: https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0498-its-never-too-early-or-too-late-save

Flexible Spending (FSA) and Health Savings (HSA) accounts: http://www.irs.gov/publications/p969/ar02.html

Individual Development Accounts: http://www.beyondhousing.org/programs/homeownership-center/individual-development-accounts/ 

Missouri Saves: http://missourifamilies.org/mosaves/

MyMoney.gov: http://www.mymoney.gov/save-invest/Pages/saveandinvest.aspx

University of Missouri Extension: http://extension.missouri.edu/wfes/savingandspending.aspx


Spending / Budgeting

Better Money Habits: http://www.bettermoneyhabits.com/en/home.html#fbid=Pkw09xBOXwl

Clearpoint’s Budget Worksheet:  http://www.clearpoint.org/wp-content/uploads/budgetsheet1.pdf

Clearpoint’s Budget Calculator:  https://www.clearpoint.org/tools/budget-calculator/

Mint.com online budgeting:  www.mint.com

MyMoney.gov: http://www.mymoney.gov/save-invest/Pages/saveandinvest.aspx


Students / Saving for College / Student Loan Debt

Federal Student Aid: http://studentaid.ed.gov/prepare-for-college

FDIC- Student Loan Basics: https://www.fdic.gov/consumers/assistance/protection/studentloans.html

Illinois Bright Start 529 Plan:  https://www.brightstartsavings.com/

Missouri MOST 529 Plan:  https://www.missourimost.com/

NFCC Student Loan Counseling: http://www.studentloanhelp.org/

Saving & College: http://www.finra.org/investors/saving-college

Student Loan Alliance Counseling:  http://www.clearpointccs.org/credit-debt/student-loan-counseling/

Student Loan Borrower Assistance:  http://www.studentloanborrowerassistance.org/

Student Loan Debt: Don’t Be Scammed: https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/blog/2017/10/got-student-loan-debt-dont-be-scammed


Taxes

IRS e-file:  http://www.irs.gov/uac/Free-File:-Do-Your-Federal-Taxes-for-Free

Volunteer tax preparation:  http://gatewayeitc.org/


Tools and Calculators

Bankrate.com calculators:  http://www.bankrate.com/calculators.aspx

Clearpoint tools:  http://www.clearpointccs.org/tips-and-tools/tools/

MyMoney.gov: http://www.mymoney.gov/tools/Pages/tools.aspx

Nationwide Banking Tools: https://www.nationwide.com/banking-tools-and-calculators.jsp   


Veteran’s Resources

CFPB http://www.consumerfinance.gov/servicemembers/

Clearpoint Military Reconnect: http://www.clearpoint.org/military-reconnect-program

Senior Veterans Service Alliance:  http://www.veteransaidbenefit.org/

USA Cares:  http://www.usacares.org/

Veterans Financial: https://www.veteransfinancial.com/

Veterans & Debt: https://www.debt.org/veterans/

Money Smart St. Louis

More News and Events

© 2018 - Money Smart St. Louis | All Rights Reserved